In Saxon times it was listed as a water mill. The 4th Duke bought the Mill in 1766 and it forms part of the Estate today.
From the mid-1800s, when a steam beam engine was installed, through the 1950s when electricity came to the area rendering steam and water power redundant, up to the end of the 1990s, Combe Yard was the Estate’s workshop and sawmill.
It is now operated as a working industrial museum and offers learning and hands-on experience to visitors of all ages. The Riverside Tea Room is a ‘must’ for visitors.